To Andy Scott, Chair of the Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights, on Hate Crimes, May 12, 2003

May 12, 2003

May 12, 2003

Sent by Fax: (613) 996-9955

Andy Scott
Chair of the Standing Committee
on Justice and Human Rights
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON

Dear Mr. Scott:

A year and a half ago I wrote to then Minister of Justice Anne McClelland calling on your government to amend hate crimes legislation to cover hate propaganda against gays, lesbians, bisexuals and transgender people in Canada.

I am writing now to support the passage of private member's Bill C?250, an Act to Amend the Criminal Code. Federal hate propaganda laws must be amended to offer protection against hate propaganda targeting gays, lesbians, and bisexuals. The legislation should be further amended to extend to all groups covered under section 15 of the Charter, including transgender individuals.

There can be no further delay. Hatred and propaganda are what lead to the countless reported and unreported acts of harassment, discrimination, and violence against lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender members of our society.

We are actively working in our union to stop workplace harassment of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender workers. We are educating, organizing and intervening. We are negotiating workplace policies with employers to stop the spread of hate, to challenge homophobia, and to deal with it when it occurs. But we should not have to negotiate these issues on a case?by?case basis; we need to work from a basis of legal protection. Our members depend on us - they should be able to depend on the laws and policies of the government as well.

On behalf of the CAW-Canada, I urge the House of Commons Justice Committee to take a stronger stand against discrimination and violence toward lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender members of our society and support Bill C?250. Make the necessary amendments to the Criminal Code, without further delays, without awaiting further brutality.

Thank you.

Buzz Hargrove


cc: Hon. Martin Cauchon, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice (fax: 613-947-7125)
John McKay, Vice-Chair, (Liberal) Scarborough East (fax: 613-992-8968)
Marlene Jennings (Liberal) Notre-Dame de Grace (fax: 613-996-1481)
Irwin Cotler (Liberal) Mount Royal (fax: 613-992-6762)
Hon. Hedy Fry (Liberal) Vancouver Centre (fax: 613-995-0056)
Joe Peschisolido (Liberal) Richmond (fax: 613-995-2174)
Derek Lee (Liberal) Scarborough-Rouge River (fax: 613-996-6643)
Paul Macklin (Liberal) Northumberland (fax: 613-995-7536)
John Maloney (Liberal) Erie-Lincoln (fax: 613-995-1534)
Pat O'Brien (Liberal) London-Fanshawe (fax: 613-943-8717)
Svend J. Robinson, MP Burnaby-Douglas (fax: 613-992-5501)
CAW National Executive Board
Peggy Nash, CAW Assistant to the President
Raj Dhaliwal, CAW Human Rights Director
Lisa Kelly, CAW Legal Department
Lynn Brophy, CAW Communications Department
Sue Carter, CAW National Representative

Print Print  Send to a friend Send to a friend  Feedback Feedback